Skip to product information
1 of 8

Psathas, John



Percussion Quartet

Regular price $73.00 NZD
Regular price Sale price $73.00 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


6 in stock

John Psathas’ 4BY4 (2012) is a high-energy and challenging multi-percussion work that takes ensemble- playing to the edge of technical possibility. It is also a highly entertaining work with its inclusion of genre-defying grooves and polyrhythmic complexity. Each player is assigned a unique combination of instruments, including tom-toms, cymbals, congas, snare drums, hi-hats and tambourine. All players use kick-drums, which unify the quartet and underpin the work’s momentum. “If Dave Weckl, Christopher Lamb, Steven Schick and Giovanni Hidalgo – all percussion virtuosi from widely different genres – were to have a jam session, I can’t help but think that it would sound something like 4BY4,” Dr. Omar Carmenates (Furman University, SC, USA).

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details