Skip to product information
1 of 6

Psathas, John



Piano Trio

Regular price $81.65 NZD
Regular price Sale price $81.65 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


In stock

In Corybas, Psathas blends the complex rhythms of Eastern European dance music into a highly dynamic and playful work for piano trio. Corybas is the first of two companion works for piano trio that Psathas wrote with the Mediterranean in mind; the second being a calmer, more serene ‘postlude’ to this work, Aegean. The piano drives much of the forward movement in Corybas by holding a repeating odd-metered groove while the string parts fall in and out of this texture. The strings build momentum throughout by fusing together their melodic lines with the piano’s groove, offering short syncopated accents and uniting for dramatic and thrilling phrases. All of this makes for an exhilarating addition to piano trio repertoire.

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details