Skip to product information
1 of 1

Farquhar, David

String Quartet No.2

String Quartet No.2

String Quartet

Regular price $44.85 NZD
Regular price Sale price $44.85 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


In stock

In six inter-related movements, exhibiting throughout great concision and economy, devotees of the composer’s style will find much to admire in the second of Farquhar’s four string quartets.

The composer writes: “The quartet is in six movements which are played without a break. The odd-numbered movements are quick, and are all based on the same material–an unsettled chord with B as the melody note, followed by a downward arpeggio flourish and a rising stepwise melody. The tempo in movements 3 and 5 gets progressively faster, and the atmosphere is increasingly scherzando in character. The first two even-numbered movements (2 and 4) are slow expressive intermezzi; both feature an up-beat of three repeated Bs leading into chromatic lines. The final movement serves as an epilogue and resolution; the instruments are now muted and the three repeated Bs are now on the beat, while off-beat accompaniment figures provide a gentle swaying dance around them.”

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details