Skip to product information
1 of 1

Farquhar, David

String Quartet No.3

String Quartet No.3

String Quartet

Regular price $86.25 NZD
Regular price Sale price $86.25 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


5 in stock

Composed after finishing the vocal score of an opera based on Shakespeare’s The Tempest, David Farquhar’s String Quartet No.3 (1998) is pervaded by material from the opera. A twisting, rising violin phrase provides most of the material for the first movement, in which moods shift and compound rhythms alternate and combine. Speed and capriciousness are reflected in the scherzando second movement, while the third movement is a series of variations culminating in the twisting lines of the work’s opening.

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details