Skip to product information
1 of 1

Ritchie, John

Pisces: Partita Concertante

Pisces: Partita Concertante

Violin and Orchestra

Regular price $47.15 NZD
Regular price Sale price $47.15 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


In stock

The Partita is cast in three movements. The first derives its impetus from the soloist’s opening gambit and the orchestral ritornello heard soon after. Their frequent reappearances enshrine a dorian tonality and embody a structure not unlike a rondo. The Arioso is for solo violin with support from the string orchestra in the main, an extended cantilena redolent of warm memories. Finally, in the rhythm of a jig, various of the concertante elements re-emerge. Woodwind and horns in the middle section and more especially the violin become increasingly prominent until near the end a cadenza for the soloist ponders fragments in retrospect before a final flourish.

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details