Skip to product information
1 of 1

Farquhar, David




Regular price $41.40 NZD
Regular price Sale price $41.40 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


18 in stock

Commissioned by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, the opening ideas of this short but lively work call the listener to attention as they build to release a rushing-away line. The elements of this opening—three repeated notes, the falling bass-line and the scurrying string figures—provide the material from which the rest of the piece grows. The strong contrasts of the opening, however, continue throughout the movement, with frequent surprises as textures and surface rhythms change—sometimes surging forward, sometimes held back. But behind this is the steady one-in-a-bar beat of the classical scherzo, providing a background rhythmic continuity to tie the surface contrasts together.

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details