Skip to product information
1 of 5

Ritchie, Anthony

Symphony No.1 ('Boum')

Symphony No.1 ('Boum')


Regular price $171.35 NZD
Regular price Sale price $171.35 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


6 in stock

Completed while Anthony Ritchie was Composer-in-Residence with the Dunedin Sinfonia in 1993, Boum is named after a mysterious echo heard by characters in E.M. Forster’s novel A Passage to India. The echo comes to symbolise the mysteries of life and death, and was a starting point to a general theme of existentialism and human struggle that pervades Ritchie’s symphony.

An eclectic range of influences can be heard across Boum’s four movements. A languid, Eastern-sounding violin theme in the first movement is influenced by gamelan music, referencing the pelog scale. Inspired by traditional music of the Cook Islands, the jaunty second movement is a vigorous scherzo dominated by the sound of log-drum and tom-toms. The third movement is a lament for the victims of the Bosnian war, its evocative opening inspired by the wailing of a Maori karanga, while the fourth movement can be thought of as a symphonic dance, its pulse and motivic ideas reminiscent of rock music.

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details