Skip to product information
1 of 1

Arnold, Samuel

Violin Sonatas Op.11 (No.3 and No.5)

Violin Sonatas Op.11 (No.3 and No.5)

Violin and Piano

Regular price $43.70 NZD
Regular price Sale price $43.70 NZD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


In stock

These two sonatas are selected from a set of eight published in 1775 and dedicated to Anne Sawbridge, the year she was Lady Mayoress of London. They were probably written for François-Hippolyte Barthélemon, a colleague of Arnold’s and a violinist whom Fanny Burney’s Evelina described as “a player of exquisite fancy, feeling, and variety”. In his dedication, Arnold describes the sonatas as “trifles” but this simply affirms them as belonging to the English fashion of conviviality. This volume is edited with an introduction by Robert Hoskins.

Editorial Precision

This product has been edited and engraved for performance and study by our expert music editors. Learn more about our approach here.

Shipping & Returns

This product may be eligiable for return and refund. Please refer to our returns and refund policy here.


All of our published editions are approximately 9 x 12 (trimmed at 305 x 220 mmm) unless specified in the description above. The digital version has the same dimensions as our print version.

View full details